Archive

Archive for November, 2007

Civil Engineering Technology: Today and Tomorrow (Live Web-seminar)

November 8th, 2007 No comments

af3dac9c-3.jpgHere’s a web seminar next week on technology related to civil engineering, and it’s eligible for continuing education PDH credits.

When: Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2007
2 p.m. EST, 1 p.m. CST, 11 a.m. PST

Summary: Explore the role of 3-D modeling, GIS, GPS machine control, and 3-D laser scanning in civil engineering. Shanon Fauerbach, P.E., editorial director of CE News, and Todd Nochomson, CAD Systems Manager for Miller Legg, will host a free one-hour virtual seminar, revealing the results of a recent research project and providing insight from a savvy technology professional. They will discuss how the civil engineering community is using these technologies and what future expectations are for their use. Nochomson will provide a user perspective, sharing his experiences with 3-D modeling and thoughts on the other technologies discussed. This presentation will be more in-depth than the article presented in the November issue of CE News, so if you are interested in these technologies, donít miss it! Read more…

MIT sues Gehry, citing leaks in $300m complex

November 7th, 2007 No comments

Stata CenterVia the Boston Globe

The Massachusetts Institute of Technology has filed a negligence suit against world-renowned architect Frank Gehry, charging that flaws in his design of the $300 million Stata Center in Cambridge, one of the most celebrated works of architecture unveiled in years, caused leaks to spring, masonry to crack, mold to grow, and drainage to back up.

Categories: news Tags: ,